Now Playing :: K’naan & Nas :: ‘Nothing To Lose’

04-09-2012 § Leave a comment

Dopeness, on stage together with Damian Marley

K’naan put out an EP a while back, called “More Beautiful Than Silence” featuring a Nas guest appearance – that I wasn’t initially real high on. I liked the track at first, but the hook just threw me off. It wasn’t, to me – what I expected out of two amazing artists collaborating.

I’m a huge fan of Nas, fresh off his superdope album with Damian Marley in 2010 – and while it took me a minute to get with K’naan I’d call myself a fan of his music thus far. I was excited about this track, but The EP’s reviews were scattered, to say the least – half the folks loved the songs and the other said it wasn’t what they expected either as longtime fans. You’ll notice, if you go through iTunes & search for K’naan most his projects are labeled “Hip Hop / Rap” & this EP is labeled clearly; “Pop.”

A few weeks go by an will.I.am drops a remixed version of said track – now available on iTunes. First time I heard this beat, “WOW” was the reaction – perfect. I loved it instantly, and began to wonder whether this may have been the OG beat before label tampering? The point of this post, is to compare both versions.

OG version, with the ill-turned-poppy beat & radio-friendly hook;

REMIX version with the dark beat and modified “hook”;

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Now Playing :: K’naan & Nas :: ‘Nothing To Lose’ at Hip Hop & Love ....

meta

