Makaveli The 7 Day Theory :: Day One :: The Early Years

06-10-2012 § 3 Comments

xxx

The early recordings, to me are the best recordings. Before the industry really got to him, Tupac was a rebel without a cause, and good at stirring up trouble on his own. His political, and socially charged lyrics landed him on the radar of police, activist groups, and even the major players in the US Government. No rapper since has had the type of impact he had, far as I’ve seen – and it could be argued this is a different era we live in regardless.

1. Fuck All Y’all (posthumously released, but recorded early in his career this track is one of my favorites – about real friends and snitches)

Look around and all I see is snakes and faces
like scavengers waitin’ to take a hustler’s pape’s
and when you stuck where the fuck is all ya friends
They straight busted and can’t be trusted fuck y’all

2. Holler If Ya Hear Me. (The introductory track on the album “Strictly 4 My N.I.G.G.A.Z.”)

And if ya hustle like a real G
Pump ya fists if ya feel me, holla if ya hear me
Learn to survive in the nine-tre’
I make rhyme pay, others make crime pay
Whatever it takes to live and stand
Cause nobody else’ll give a damn
So we live like caged beasts
Waitin for the day to let the rage free
Still me, till they kill me
I love it when they fear me

3. Do 4 Love (Unreleased until “R U Still Down?” posthumously, but recorded around 1992-93.)

Tell me who knows, a peaceful place where I can go
To clear my head I’m feelin low, losin control

4. Pour Out A Little Liquor (from THUGLIFE compilation – which was deemed too controversial to release as intended, Interscope scrapped a lot of the tracks. This is also the first official single from the compilation, the only one released prior to the album in September ’94)

5. Same Song (Everyone knows the story behind this one … from backup dancer to superstar with this verse)

Now I clown around when I hang around with the Underground
Girls use to frown, say I’m down, when I come around
gas me and when they pass me they use to diss me
harrass me, but now they ask me if they can kiss me
Get some fame, people change, wanna live they life high
same song, can’t go wrong, if I play the nice guy

(clamin that they must have changed,just because we came strong)
I remain, still the same (why Tu’?) cause it’s the same song

6. I Don’t Give A Fuck (You could say this defines his career, from the album “2Pacalypse Now”)

I went to the bank to cash my check
I get more respect from the motherfuckin’ dope man
The Grammy’s and American music shows
They pimp us like hoes; take our dough but they hate us though
You better keep your mind on the real shit
And fuck trying to get with these crooked ass hypocrites
They way they see it, we was meant to be kept down
Just can’t understand why we gettin respect now
Momma told me they’re be days like this
But I’m pissed! Cause it stays like this

7. I Get Around (The underground just don’t stop for hoes … from “Strictly 4 My N.I.G.G.A.Z.”)

She tell me that she needs me, cries when she leaves me
And every time she sees me, she squeeze me, lady take it easy!
Hate to sound sleazy, but tease me, I don’t want it if it’s that easy

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Makaveli The 7 Day Theory :: Day One :: The Early Years

  • […] 1 – The Early Years Day 2 – Me Against The World Day 3 – The Untouchable Death Row Records Day 4 – […]

  • Sam Hunter says:

    I think it’s catchy to say he was a rebel without a cause but not true. A rebel yes, but without a cause? No. He certainly dealt with the hopelessness many of his fans / generation were and are feeling. But don’t confuse that with not having a cause.

    Remember, he said he wanted to use his art to show the most graphic details of what life was like for the black youth. He compared it to the media showing the reality of the Vietnam war.

    And then you’ve got his attempts to introduce a street code through the ThugLife movement.

    Finally, he wanted to get into politics. In the days before his death he said ‘This time next year, God willing I’m alive, I will have my own political party.’

    I’m the author of Makaveli’s Prince, come check me out.

    • fuhnahtik says:

      Man, and I had just watched that James Dean movie the other day too …

      Nah, you’re right though – his rebellion was consistent throughout his career but the “without a cause” came later on. Even then, you could argue he was fighting for his freedom, and back against the naysayers rather than politicians and crack dealers in his early recordings. Afterward, he had that certain viciousness, or as he said it “heartless” aspect of his music that had him changing lanes and becoming the bigger-than-life artist most us remember him as.

      I go to jail for a crime everybody know I did not commit, get shot 5 times, and I’m gettin’ raped in jail. Whoompty, wompty, they just sayin’ anything to assassinate my character. What that showed me? Remember, remember this lack of a conscience, when I come out. Remember this lack of mercy, when I come out. Remember this lack of compassion, when I come out.

      For me, that’s where my allegiance to his pre-Death Row days comes from. I appreciate everything he’s recorded or wrote, but there is a special affinity for his earlier works – it’s a more poetic message.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Makaveli The 7 Day Theory :: Day One :: The Early Years at Hip Hop & Love ....

meta

